Skip to content
June 18, 2012 / edwardonbebop

Why do I like chiptunes ?

I recently began to listen to chiptunes. The concept can be explained very simply: electronic music made from 8-bits gaming computers/consoles (more details here).

How did I fall into chiptunes in the first place ? I don’t even like electronic music ! Well, I will probably come to that later in that post.

I think the first time I heard chiptunes was when I discovered  Keith Apicary (a retro gaming geek characters played by Nathan Barnatt). As a Neo Geo fan I fell on a video clip of a funny song about that gem of 90’s video games (you can see it here).

After that discovery I looked for more video clips of Keith Apicary and then for music made by FantomenK (the artist that created the music used by Barnatt for his songs).

Now I have to admit that fact: I like chiptunes !

I am feeling a lot lighter now that this has been said. Thank you !  :)

So, why do I like that kind of music ? Hmmmm. Let me think.

I fell in love with video games in the late 80’s. From then I could not stop thinking about video games. Super Mario Bros, Sonic, Thunder Force III, James Pond 2, Mickey Mouse: Castle of Illusion, Alex Kid, Streets of Rage, Alpha Mission II, Super Mario Kart, etc.

Now every time I hear chiptunes a whole bunch of memories come back from those long past years. Only good memories: graphics, colors, music, secret paths. There some kind of nostalgic feeling mixed with a great deal of  “happiness” and “acceleration”, don’t ask me why (maybe  just listen to a music from Sonic’s soundtrack or even a remix of one).

Maybe the reason for my new-found taste for chiptunes can be found in depression or anxiety syndrome. During the past months I could not listen to any kind of music without being on the edge of bursting into tears. I do not know why, but this is a fact.

Chiptunes allow me to listen to music that only triggers good feelings and memories. I have found a way to let my mind to wander without going to dark and sad places. I only listen to chiptune now. At work when I want to cut myself from the surrounding noise, in the metro or when I go for a run.

Maybe one day I will not be able to hold it and begin to dance in the streets of Toulouse ? Don’t be too hard on a crazy 92-years old boy dancing on the sound of chiptunes, should you ever  see one. Probably just a sad boy who found a way to make his days a little better…  :)

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. halfwaybetweenthegutter / Jun 19 2012 3:09 pm

    I love everything about this post!

    Thinking back to my old gaming days when I was just a kid gives me a lovely warm feeling inside. I grew up with 8-bit and 16-bit games, and to this day I still love them more than any modern stuff; there’s something magical about them.

    • edwardonbebop / Jun 20 2012 6:42 pm

      I don’t know much about modern games. It seems a big shortcut saying there is nothing magical about them. But I tend to agree with you.

      Many old games seems like they have something “more”. It’s like technical limitations pushed games creator to think about some more original stories/universes, etc.

      I grew up with 8 and 16 bits video games too. I like many, many, many of them. Probably more than I can actually remember… 😛

      Ever played a Bomberman 93 game with 4 of your friends ? THAT’s magical and fun and timeless ! 🙂

  2. edwardonbebop / Jun 21 2012 4:27 pm

    Thank you so much for your comment by the way ! 😉

Leave a Reply

