Skip to content
March 26, 2013 / edwardonbebop

Mara #1

Mara #1 coverI was looking for a new comic book series. I wanted something that was not in the  “super hero” category nor something mainstream. I picked up Mara, mostly because of the cover. I like the “military propaganda” style of the cover, with very few colors and yet it drew my attention.

As the cover suggests, the context of the series is sports and volley-ball. But this is not the main topic of this comic book. The story is about the main character whose name has been chosen for the series. Mara has something special, something different. This first issue is about the discovery of this difference.

The art may appear a little static, but this lack of movement is not really an issue because the goal is not to give the impression of action but rather to focus on Mara.

I really like the fact that the authors did not try to make the female characters sexy at all cost. This give us the opportunity to focus on the environment, dialogs and Mara’s psychology.

In the end this comic book series is a really nice suprise. And I already purchased the second issue !

Je cherchais une nouvelle série de comics.Je voulais quelque chose de différent, qui ne soit pas rangé dans la catégorie des super héros et qui ne soit pas trop commun non plus. J’ai choisi Mara, surtout pour la couverture. Le style retro-propagande militaire en quadrichromie a attiré mon attention.

Comme le suggère la couverture, le contexte de l’histoire est le sport et le volley-ball plus précisément. Mais le sport n’est pas le sujet central de la série. L’histoire tourne autour du personnage principal dont le nom a été choisi pour le titre de la série. Mara a quelque chose de spécial. Le premier volume raconte la découverte de cette différence.

Les dessins sont un peu statiques, mais ce n’est pas dérangeant car à priori il ne s’agit pas vraiment de retranscrire l’action que de découvrir Mara.

J’ai aimé le fait que les auteurs n’aient pas cherché à donner à tout pris une touche sexy aux personnages. Ceci nous permet de nous concentrer sur le contexte de l’histoire, les dialogues et la psychologie de Mara.

Au final ce comics est une très bonne surprise. Et d’ailleurs j’ai déjà acheté le second volume !

Mara #1:
Story: Brian Wood
Art: Ming Doyle
Colors: Jordie Bellaire

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. worldsbeforethedoor / Mar 27 2013 10:23 am

    Ohhh. This looks interesting. It’s also the name of one of my characters, so of course it’s interesting to me.🙂

    • edwardonbebop / Mar 27 2013 11:44 am

      It is interesting !
      Mara is a young strong-willed woman.
      And her story gets even bigger in the second volume !

      It is a 6 issues mini-series. I am glad I gave it a try !🙂

      I had not time to find more about “your” Mara. Is she also a strong young lady ?

      • worldsbeforethedoor / Mar 27 2013 12:05 pm

        lol…um no. She is a witch who is over 100 years old and is a mass murderer. lol. Very different. Mara means bitter in Hebrew. I chose that name for her because it suits her. She is very bitter and her bitterness leads her down a very dark and damning path. I’ve had some personal experiences with bitterness and it always destroys everything around it. So very different!🙂

      • edwardonbebop / Mar 27 2013 12:12 pm

        “Mara means bitter in Hebrew.” I did know that ! How interesting ! It gives me a new angle on the character of Mara that I know !
        Thank you for sharing that interesting piece of knowledge.🙂

        I don’t know how to quantify “bitterness” in my own life. I am not even sure I know what the feeling really is like…

      • worldsbeforethedoor / Mar 27 2013 12:18 pm

        I’ve not so much felt bitter as been close to someone who was bitter. It’s kinda like taking a wrong someone commits against you and instead of working it out with that person and forgiving them, you let it fester until it clouds your whole world. It’s very sad.

      • edwardonbebop / Mar 27 2013 12:29 pm

        I need to sleep on that. Maybe I know the feeling then…🙂 or😦 or … I don’t know.

      • worldsbeforethedoor / Mar 27 2013 1:06 pm

        I would guess most of us have battled it at one time or another.🙂

      • edwardonbebop / Apr 1 2013 5:22 pm

        I didn’t know all the “things” Mara could be !
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mara_%28disambiguation%29

      • worldsbeforethedoor / Apr 2 2013 10:28 am

        Wow….that’s crazy!

      • edwardonbebop / Apr 2 2013 12:29 pm

        Now I am sure you have found an unsuspected depth and unexpected possibilities to work on your character ! 😛

      • worldsbeforethedoor / Apr 2 2013 3:08 pm

        I think so!

      • worldsbeforethedoor / Apr 2 2013 10:28 am

        Wow….that’s crazy!

Leave a Reply

