Skip to content
April 16, 2013 / edwardonbebop

The Colonized #1: Zombies versus Aliens

TheColonized-Collage_01I flashed on the cover first. The color scheme somehow made me think of old movie posters from the 50’s or 60’s.
Then I saw the title: “Zombies versus Aliens” and I could not resist and I had to order that comics !

I wasn’t expecting much of this series maybe just a comic book with funny drawings but lame dialogs. I was happily surprised and I got something a little deeper and less obvious than that. But do not expect anything remotely scientific or philosophic though, were are dealing with a “Z comics” here, but a good one apparently !

The title is a good summing-up of the plot so I won’t explain the plot in more details. But the way the story is told is alternatively funny and realistic.

The first page made me smile. Dialogs are kind of funny with a touch a black humour and a vaguely ecologist message (that last all this issue long).
The drawings are sharp and simple. The limited colors create a dark and unreal atmosphere. The characters design is rather good, especially for the aliens in my opinion.

This discovery was a rather nice surprise.

C’est la couverture qui m’a attiré au premier abord. Le jeu des couleurs m’a fait penser à de vielles affiches de films des années 50 ou 60. Quand j’ai vu le titre, j’ai craqué. Comment résister à quelque chose qui s’appelle “Zombies versus Aliens” ? J’ai donc commandé le comics sans trop savoir de quoi il retournait.

Alors que je m’attendais juste à un comics stupide mais amausant, avec des dessins rigolos, j’ai eu au final quelque chose de plus recherché que ça. Rien de scientifique ou philosophic cepedant, nous avons bien à faire à une BD de “série Z”, mais une bonne BD à ce qu’il semblerait.

Le titre résume à lui seul l’intrique de l’histoire, je ne vais donc pas la détailler davantage. Mais au final, la façon dont l’histoire est traitée est tour à tour amusante et réaliste.

Dès la première page j’ai souri. Les dialogues sont plutôt amusant avec une pointe d’humour noir et un message vaguement écologiste (qui dure tout le long de ce premier numero).
Les dessins sont simples mais précis. La palette de couleur réduite créé une ambiance un peu sombre et irréelle. Le design des personnages est plutôt bon, avec une mention spéciale pour les extra-terrestres.

 

The Colonized #1
Story/histoire: Chris Ryall
Art/dessin: Drew Moss
Colors/couleurs: Jay Fotos
Letters/lettrage: Tom B. Long
Cover/couverture [regular]: Dave Sim (art/dessin) Jay Fotos (colors/couleurs)

Leave a Reply

