Skip to content
May 13, 2013 / edwardonbebop

He-Man: #1

He-Man-CollageThe full title actually is He-Man and the Master of the Universe. But I thought it would make a too long title for this post, so I truncated it to the name of the main character. Or rather the name of one of his aspect of his personality.

Adam, prince of Eternia, was one of my favorite character when I was young (like 6 or 7 years old). And DC Comic recently chose to revive the universe of the Masters through a new comic book series. When I received the first issue of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe I was so excited ! The characters from my childhood coming back ! And I also expected a strong disappointment. Which did not come. Not completely.

Visual are colorful and rather sharp with a special attention given to… hair ! Don’t ask me why, but you will notice that characters’ hair are really standing out in most panels. Maybe the last page justifies that artistic choice, that is the only explanation I could give you. You will also notice an interesting choice in colors. The dominant color is the same through the whole issue with a progressive transition to darker tones, like a indication of the drama to come.

The comic is not bad, maybe a little simplistic, but I’ve read worse. No, the small taste of disappointment is due to my lack of knowledge of the characters and their background. The Sorceress, Teela, etc are names that I had long forgotten. So diving into a new story with characters that you are supposed to remember is a little complicated when your (long-term) memory fails you.

Otherwise the He-Man #1 was still a pretty fun reading. But maybe only readers with a touch of nostalgia (and a memory better than mine) will enjoy it.

Le titre complet était un peu trop long pour que je le reprenne tel quel comme titre pour ce post, je l’ai donc raccourci pour n’en garder que le nom de son personnage principal He-Man en anglais, Musclor en français. Car il s’agit bien ici de ce héro de mon enfance.

Adam, le prince d’Éternia, était l’un de mes personnages préférés quand j’étais plus jeune (c’est à dire 6 ou 7 ans). DC Comics a récemment décidé de ressuciter la licence avec une nouvelle série. Quand j’ai reçu le premier numéro des Maîtres de l’Univers, j’étais un peu tout fou. Les personnages de mon enfance étaient de retour ! Je m’attendais malgré tout à un gros coup commercial et à une certaine déception. Qui n’est pas arrivée. Pas vraiment.

Graphiquement ce numéro est assez coloré et le trait précis. Nous noterons l’attention toute particulière apportée … aux cheveux ! Ne me demandez pas pourquoi, mais les cheveux des personnages ressortent assez nettement sur la maojorité des cases. La seule explication que je vois dans ce choix artistique est peut-être dans la dernière page. il y a également un choix intéressant dans les coleurs. La couleur dominante est la même d’une page à l’autre avec une lègère progression vers des tons de plus en plus sombre, comme une indication des malheurs à venir.

Ce volume n’est pas fondamentalement mauvais, un peu simpliste peut-être, mais j’ai déjà lu pire. Non, ma légère déception est due à mon manque de connaissance des personnages et de leur contexte. Teela, La Sorcière, etc ce sont tous des noms que j’avais oubliés depuis longtemps. Se replonger dans une nouvelle histoire avec des personnages que l’on est censé déjà connaître est un peu hardu quand votre mémoire vous joue des tours.

Sinon He-Man est une lecture distrayante. Mais il est possible que les seuls lecteurs qui pourront l’apprécier seront ceux avec une pointe de nostalgie (et une meilleure mémoire que la mienne).

He-Man and the Masters of the Universe #1
Story/histoire: Keith Giffen
Pencil-Ink/dessin-encrage: Pop Mhan
Colors/couleurs: Kathryn Laynd
Letters/lettrage: Saida Temofonte
Cover/couverture [regular]: Ed Benes & Randy Mayor

Leave a Reply

