Skip to content
February 25, 2016 / edwardonbebop

In my Hobbit hole

house-edited

My home is like a Hobbit hole. It looks like a hole in the earth with a turf roof.

From the outside my house looks like it is one with Nature, with its surroundings. Except for the windows, they look like eyes to a hump. Depending on the light, my house could look eerie.

The outside door is made of wooden boards. It may look fragile but it is not. It is simple yet thick. Enough to block most of the wind and the outside cold and dampness.

Behind the door, everything is wood, the floor, the walls and the ceiling. The hallway goes straight at first then turns twice on the left. This helps keeping the cold further away. This part of my home is not very bright but it is not important. Even better, the relative darkness make the lights of the room beyond inviting.

After the final turn in the hallway, you enter the main room which serves as living-room, dining room and kitchen as well. The room is not really big, probably just enough for four people. Here also everything it made of wood which is a softer material than stone or concrete, so the place is actually warm and welcoming.

The table and the benches are made of solid wood. This is my dream; a table that is strong enough to gather people around with getting old. A table that would probably still stand once I die.

For the cooking there is a small wood stove. The meals I cook are simple yet tasty because only finer ingredients are used. They are simple yet copious and hot.

There is only one bedroom. It is tiny but cosy. The wooden boards on the floor, walls and ceiling make it look like a comforting shelter or a nest.

There is just enough space for a beside table, a small cupboard. And the bed. The bed is not wide but it has a thick mattress. There are several layers of warm sheets and blankets and a big fluffy quilt on the top.

Most of the time the bedroom does not need heating because it is small and well insulated. Moreover in the very cold days the blankets and human heat are enough to avoid being cold.

I told you that everything was make of wood in my Hobbit hole, right ? Well this was a small lie. To tell the truth there are a few stones in my home. Not that much. I will show you.

Let us go back to the main room and pass by the sofa (doesn’t it look comfortable ?). Here are the stones. Just a few, they compose the small fireplace.

When the weather turns really bad having a nice fire roaring keeps the humidity and the cold away. It makes this part of the house perfect for a quiet night reading or playing board games (books and game are in that heavy cupboard along the wall next to the sofa). Or you can just sit there watching, smelling the fire and listening to its soothing voice. You can have a glass of whisky too if you want. I will show you where the bottle is hidden.

 

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. niccihaydon / Feb 25 2016 10:38 pm

    That sounds (and looks) delightful!

  2. leeniedevinity / Feb 25 2016 10:58 pm

    Sounds delightful! Do you welcome visitors to your Hobbit hole?

    • edwardonbebop / Feb 26 2016 3:12 am

      Of course I do. The place is remote but visitors are welcome and I hope they would feel at home.

      • leeniedevinity / Feb 26 2016 1:57 pm

        I didn’t see any evidence of tech there, so a quiet, restful haven, for sure.

      • edwardonbebop / Feb 26 2016 4:02 pm

        No tech, indeed. It is the purpose of my Hobbit hole. Now that I think of it I don’t even know where the light would come from. Nights are probably long. Either some candles (a lot of them) either some oil lamps would hate to do.

      • leeniedevinity / Feb 26 2016 5:55 pm

        Maybe something like this? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5XCRg_l4lE

      • edwardonbebop / Feb 26 2016 6:08 pm

        Great idea ! How did you found that ? Well the problem would be to store the light for a later use during the night. I wonder how this works under the starlight…

      • edwardonbebop / Feb 26 2016 7:44 pm

        How to create something “big” with almost nothing. It is a nice story.

        I guess for a Hobbit hole something similar can be found. Solar lamps could work too.

        Or we would have to learn enjoying the dark also, why not. 🙂

      • leeniedevinity / Feb 26 2016 7:53 pm

        As Benjamin Franklin said: Early to bed and early to rise makes and man healthy, wealthy and wise.🙂

      • edwardonbebop / Feb 26 2016 8:10 pm

        There may be truth in that. I find it hard to go to bed early sometimes ! Ha ha ha !

      • leeniedevinity / Feb 26 2016 8:26 pm

        I’m the same. But I have no problem getting up early.

      • edwardonbebop / Feb 26 2016 8:30 pm

        Me being able to get up early is actually more a problem of sleep quality than the time at which I go to bed. So I can be fresh if I sleep 6 hours or 10 hours (which has not happened for years now) and be grumpy after a 8 hours’ sleep. Sleep is a complete mystery to me.

        Anyway I feel I could have a decent sleep in a cosy home.

      • leeniedevinity / Feb 26 2016 8:35 pm

        In a cozy hobbit hole home.😀

      • edwardonbebop / Feb 26 2016 8:40 pm

        Yes ! One of the reason I love the first of the three movies of “Lord of the Rings” is because of their houses.

        Then this article on Treehugger made me want to … I don’t know. Have a home that is more like me. Or simply have a trip to Iceland and live in one of these turf roof houses. The way I see it, it can only be resourcing.

      • leeniedevinity / Feb 26 2016 8:50 pm

        Iceland is one place I’d really like to visit (it’s on my bucket list). If I were younger, I’d even consider moving there. http://www.buzzfeed.com/jessicaprobus/32-reasons-we-should-all-just-pick-up-and-move-to-iceland#.rfx8RBDyY And here’s a bit of Iceland trivia http://www.vikingrune.com/2011/09/100-facts-about-iceland/

      • edwardonbebop / Feb 27 2016 12:08 pm

        My Mum went there. She told me interesting things. First the food is not great and mostly imported.
        Then, there is only 1 road that goes round the island. The inner ways are more tracks than roads and you have to drive a ATV.
        The hot pools smell of sulfur.
        Plus, never make fun of elves in front of Icelandic people !!!🙂
        BUT it was a great travel for her. She loved it.

        I think I might enjoy going there too but it is not an adventure to start unprepared. 🙂

        I see a lot of facts that I did not know in the links you suggested.

Leave a Reply

