Skip to content
April 19, 2017 / edwardonbebop

Indirection

A sign that indicates
not the next direction but the point of origin,
Forces a rambler to look back and ask:
How did I get here ?

Following the road, head down
Made the traveler missed the point
Where a choice of direction was to be made.

Keeping the head down was easier.

But it lead nowhere.

No amount of thinking
While staying at the same location
will make the hiker move forward.

Instead moving on keeping one’s head up
In order to see the next sign
And make an attempt at choosing
A suitable direction is what takes
The walker closer to the destination.

As even in erring,
the destination may still be reached
With several indirections maybe.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. edwardonbebop / Apr 19 2017 9:20 pm

    This is more or less a metaphor for my therapy sessions.

  2. leeniedevinity / Apr 20 2017 5:53 pm

    10 days left in the April challenge!

    • edwardonbebop / Apr 20 2017 6:20 pm

      Yes !

      I wonder how I will be able to write during my Amsterdam trip though.
      I still have time to figure that out.
      🙂

      • leeniedevinity / Apr 20 2017 7:01 pm

        Is your Amsterdam trip a holiday with the family? When does that start? Can you do that kind of thing on your smartphone?

      • edwardonbebop / Apr 20 2017 7:04 pm

        Yes, it is a family trip, from Sunday to Friday included.

        I could do that on the phone but honestly inspiration comes more easily typing on a keyboard.
        I could also write them on paper and take pictures for instance.
        Or maybe I will bring my computer there ?

  3. leeniedevinity / Apr 20 2017 7:10 pm

    Sounds great. Lucky you! The paper/picture option sounds good … then you wouldn’t need to worry about your computer.

    • edwardonbebop / Apr 20 2017 7:24 pm

      I still haven’t ruled out taking my computer with me.
      But I will sure take paper and pencils with me.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

