Skip to content
April 20, 2017 / edwardonbebop

Review: Nobody Move

Nobody MoveNobody Move by Denis Johnson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had really high expectations about this book given all the positive comments it had received.
When I started reading it however I could only feel disappointed.

I could not understand what was happening, some parts seemed to be missing, I had no idea where the story was going.
The characters made no sense: one of the character says “I would give everything for a woman like you” to a woman he saw 15 minutes ago and literally spoke less than 20 words to her.

It took me a while that this was the point of the book. Fast paced so ellipses everywhere.
Most characters are desperate or crazy that is why they seem to make no sense.
The story is unpredictable this is why I was unsettled at first.

I found myself enjoying the story a lot around the middle of the book.
I got used to the writing, the dialogues and the characters.
The atmosphere is very ‘noir’ and there is definitely a touch of Tarantino in the book.

I think I couldn’t enjoy all of the dialogues because I am French and my English is not perfect.

However I would recommend that book. It is a great read, a short one but worthy of interest.
You will enjoy it even more if you are able to read it in 2 to 4 sessions (195 pages long).

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

