Skip to content
July 3, 2017 / edwardonbebop

Showdown

I regressed
To the point that
I don’t know the words
That could express how I feel.

I feel dumb,
So much that
I don’t even know
My name.

I am a nobody.

I feel detached,
So remote, that it scares me to death.
My body doesn’t anchor me
Here below.

I could try
To overcome all that
But I would be building
New lies to cover up for

That thing

I hate to acknowledge,
I fear to admit has come back.
Depression.

However I won’t lie to myself.
It is just me and my feelings now,
In an honest face-to-face,
A showdown maybe.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. edwardonbebop / Jul 3 2017 8:10 pm

    Barely edited. Almost raw.
    I am not sure this counts like poetry anymore.
    Maybe rather cathartic writing than anything else.

  2. leeniedevinity / Jul 4 2017 4:30 pm

    It most surely is poetry, and beautiful … though the message, of course, is both heavy and sad. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

